Bloggerskating….and I’ve Been Fired.

August 3, 2008 at 2:42 am (Uncategorized)

Today I just knew I’d see Leigh from Bloggeritaville at the skating rink, and I did…as I was turning in my skates. Sigh. Yes, I skated, and didn’t fall once! I only had seven or eight random kids grabbing at my gauchos to keep themselves up and still managed to stay upright (can’t say much for the kids, though, poor tykes).

But I am blogging because I have been fired from my job. Wednesday is my last day. I am still a mama, but I will no longer have a preschooler at home with me. I know, I know, I get all the stuff about how my kids shouldn’t be my identity and stuff, but truly, if you had kids like mine, you’d want them as your identity, too!

When I first started blogging in, oh, 2004 or so, I blogged as Insane Preschool Mom. I had this great graphic banner that had a woman pushing three kids in a shopping cart looking like she was about to lose her mind–but she still had fabulous hair. Someone, probably SJ The Mom of Give Me the Booger, reminded me that I would only be a preschool mom for so long. At the time my kids were 3, 2, and 1. So I quit blogging for a bit and came back as Miss Bossy Pants. That’s the nickname my middle child–the true Miss Bossy Pants–gave me and uses it with such disdain that it’s almost cute.

My baby, who is not even five years old as of the start of the school year, is starting kindergarten on Thursday. Even when she was in preschool five mornings a week, we hung together. She’s been my shopping partner, grocery assistant, movie buddy, everything. She’s the kid who would let me take a nap because she knew it meant at least an hour of uninterrupted time watching Noggin. My older two are great, and I’m close with them, but in a different way. When Cutehead was born, the other two went off to mom’s day out and preschool a few hours each week and it was just the two of us. I’m really, really going to miss having her around during the day.

This has pushed me to make lots of plans for the first week or two of school. Firstly, I am going to prime the three bedrooms upstairs and paint them. Then I am going to mud the kids’ bathroom walls with drywall, prime them, and paint that room. Then I am going to rearrange all the furniture in the house.

Thoughts?

3 Comments

  1. Terri said,

    Sorry you lost your job. Make sure you get the painting done, or we will be reading about school ending, your baby finishing Kindergarten and how the room still isn’t painted.

    Speaking from experience here.

    Sadly, son is beginning high school and there are still holes in the walls from kindergarten. I’ll get it it. Eventually.

    And I expect a really juicy story about your firing. Make up something if it lacks drama. I need something fun to read on Monday whilest waiting on Charter.

  2. Leigh said,

    MBP-what a post! It certainly brought a tear to my eye. I think it will for all moms, especially those with more than one child, can relate. I cant tell you, though, that it gets any easier. As life flies by at a rapid pace. BUt I think you have things in check. Appreciating the simple moments…for it is those that tie your children with memories of togetherness, of just “Being there”. A tie that will forever bind you. Bond you.
    I feel blessed to have been able to be home with all three of my kids and I know they fill the same. It’s not a knock to moms who work. I feel my being home was a luxury. We made sacrifices to do it. Not everyone can do it. But it is a choice that I feel fortunate to have had.
    Your children will feel the same about you.That I am certain.
    And hey, call me…we’ll go find trouble somewhere if you need a distraction in the coming weeks ahead.

  3. HEWY said,

    Dont worry. I hear “Why didnt you do your homework” mom job is now open. I can’t wait to read you elementary school mom post!

Leave a Reply

