Shop ’til you drop…or until you start threatening your kids with starvation for claiming they "need" forty dollar madras shorts

August 2, 2008 at 4:48 am (Uncategorized)

I don’t buy into the whole “sales tax holiday” thing but I do sort of like sticking it to the man. I’d feel better if there was a week of salary that the government didn’t tax but hey, we take what we can get. The state, county, and city sales taxes actually help us all out but I guess a few days with no tax revenue on select items isn’t going to bury a city like Helena. Unless you are purchasing your wedding gown at White Room this weekend or buying out Consignment Classics (hi, Michelle!), there’s not a lot of places to save on computers, clothing, or school supplies (other than Walgreens, Dollar General, and Publix). You get my point.

Still, today happened to be pay day, which means shopping day. While we are blessed to no longer have to live paycheck-to-paycheck all the time, my husband likes to pretend we do so he can get after me for buying frivolous items like socks with monkeys on them. So I left each daughter with a different friend for a few hours–boy, did those girls need a break from one another!–and took my son shopping.

When I asked where he wanted to go, I honestly thought he’d say Old Navy or Target or T. J. Maxx. No, no, no, he wanted to go to the mall. Our mall is the Riverchase Galleria, a never-ending maze of stores, some of which are actually still in operation. We shopped Sears, J. C. Penney, K B Toys (birthday party for friends this weekend)…stops in other places offered nothing. I am so disappointed in the Gap Kids store now. I find much better GK merchandise at the Alabaster thrift store.

In the evening I took the girls out, which in my defense was an honorable idea.

First we had to exchange jeans for my son at J C Penney. That led to the purchase of two pairs of bermuda shorts, two plaid skorts, and six tops for the girls (all matching, which was totally not my idea), not to mention a $3 Penney’s catalog. some of my best memories of childhood involve lying on my babysitter’s living room floor and going through big catalogs, dreaming of someday having a Garfield bedroom. Afterward we headed to Justice because I had a killer 20% coupon and they let you use that on an entire purchase, even Webkinz (we bought no Webkinz, and my girls informed me that I am indeed awful and never say yes). We got another birthday gift for the other birthday friend–on clearance, cute as can be–and other clearance items for the girls. Their hair accessories were all buy one, get one half off or something. Socks were on clearance, but I didn’t get any more monkey socks. That would give away what the whole evening was about.

At Target I had to get actual household items, like Shout Stain Remover Advanced Power, Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch, Pop Tarts, and these polo-style shirts my son loves (they don’t wrinkle) that are the Target brand and only $4.99 each.

Now they’re in bed asleep, no doubt stoked about the roller skating party that will happen in ten hours. Oh Leigh, I don’t know if I can put the skates on. my feet hurt from shopping, and I didn’t even get a new lipstick.

(Why do kids think they “need” things? You need food, you need water, you need something to cover your body, you need someone to hug and kiss you and tell you they love you….nobody NEEDS another frakking Hannah Montana shirt, or shorts that cost more than my running shoes. I want my kids to have nice things but at the same time I am fighting their feelings of entitlement. We talk about how lots of people have less but sometimes I think the only way they’d learn a lesson is if all our stuff disappeared and we only had each other. Sigh.)

2 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    OH!MY!GOSH! Will you be there? YOU MUST skate! MUST! Woot!

    and I have to skip the tax days because of the corwds. I returned something to Belk yesterday and thought I would have a nervouse breakdown for the crowd around the register. Mean women, all vying for sales prices and no tax. Pushing forward as if it were a Stones concert. Geez. If I had known/recalled it was no tax day I would’ve stayed away.

    …but did you see the kids shoes sale in Belks? I got merrils and sperrys for my kids at 12 bucks a pair.

  2. Leigh said,

    Your pic is up at my place..Great to see you. Wished you coulda stayed and skate!

Leave a Reply

