Have you evah

July 12, 2008 at 9:41 pm (Uncategorized)

Chattanooga was fun. We did the touristy stuff since we had the kids–the Tennessee Aquarium, Ruby Falls, Rock City, the Choo Choo. Okay, the Choo Choo was the absolute biggest disappointment. I almost demanded my three bucks in parking money back (we had already checked out of the hotel–we walked everywhere the rest of the week). I had a feeling similar to when I went with Ben and some other math department people to see Highlander 3.

What I was really looking forward to, I thought, was a ride on the River Gorge Explorer. I’d read about it and it looked perfect. Except we got there and it was broken. I nearly slipped out a cuss or two in front of the poor aquarium girl but kept my cool. We enjoyed the penguins in the Ocean Journey building (really liked the penguins, though the sharks are not nearly as cool as they are at Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg). Loved the River Journey building because of all the regional stuff in there. The Butterfly Garden was amazing but a little daunting since they keep reinforcing how important it is that a buttefly not get squished or touched or be let out of the garden (federal laws, you know).

We decided to go overboard touristy and book a cruise on the Southern Belle. This turned out to be the best part of the whole trip. For the five of us it was $89–and this was with two kids getting on for free since it was “family night”–but we got a nice big dinner buffet, cake, all we could drink tea and soft drinks, and a magic show that was actually a lot of fun for all of us. The kids were so excited about being in the wheel house that we spent most of the non-eating time up there with the captain. I’m proud to say our kids were well-behaved up there, and plenty of others were absolutely not well-behaved. They didn’t get yelled at once, not even by me!

I have some great pictures of gnomes at Rock City. My youngest is now terrified of them. She calls them “fweeky.” We even got ourselves an official Rock City birdhouse–a big one–because my husband likes to do things that make other people mad. It’s desperately tacky and beautiful all at once.

Meanwhile…

I came to realize, after reconnecting with an old friend, that I am still afraid to face some of my beliefs, and afraid to stand up for certain things around my family of origin (great people) and even with my husband.

There’s also been a big shake-up at my husband’s company and I don’t think he’s happy about it. I can’t go into lots of details here but we may be really screwed, and we’re not the only ones. I’m thankful that he didn’t get fired, but at the same time, he was ‘restructured’ which means he’s not doing what he signed on to do, and not doing it with the people he signed on to do it with. I don’t know what the future holds and it makes me nervous. It’s not even about money…we’ve gotten through money problems before and are reasonably prepared for whatever might come our way now. The Big Bad Things of seven years ago taught us to do that. But when my husband is not happy in his job, he is miserable in every other aspect of life, too. I’m hoping things work out. A year ago, when he switched positions within the company, we never saw this coming. I guess when you’re dealing with technology, you can’t count on much to stay still for long, especially the good stuff.

5 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    understand the tech stuff. My husband is in that field as well. I say tell you hubs to put his feelers out elsewhere, add reume to job sites and wait. Life is to short to not be happy. And to be happy, go find it. dont wait on it to find you. You re in my prayers Bossy.

    The trip sounds awesome. I love Chatanooga. Will try the boat next time. havent done that and sounds fun. Wanna see pics.

  2. MRMacrum said,

    The only thing you can count on is change. Never more so than in the technology field. Being tied to the economy by it’s apron strings, technology follows the money. Or the lack of money.

  3. HEWY said,

    Wow, you hit it all in Chattanooga! It sounds like a really fun time!

  4. MissBossyPants said,

    hewy: stop patronizing me 🙂 No, it actually was a fantastic time and I can’t wait to go back and use our aquarium membership again!

  5. Charnita's Xpressions said,

    I love Chattanooga too.
    Fun for all.
    My hubby is in construction so we have had ups and downs and lots of CHANGE as well.
    Nothing is more miserable than living with a man who is miserable in his job. I hope things work out for you all.
    And I hope you keep working on facing those beliefs…..

Leave a Reply

