I can use "streptococcal" and "gastrointestinal" in a sentence! Two even!

June 27, 2008 at 8:18 am (Uncategorized)

Thursday night was book club. I’ve told you about book club before. Well, tonight, since I am on about fifty different meds between my regulars and the special ones I’m on to get rid of the strep and the yeast infections and such…I was the driver. I drove five of us (our member who works at UAB met us there) from our quaint little town to Big Bad Hoovah to eat at Silver Coin Indian Grill.

Yum. I had been to lunch there but never to dinner. My favorite stuff–cauliflower, potatoes, spinach–all cooked to be spicy and give me gastrointestinal discomfort for the rest of the night. Afterward I drove my neighbors and book club members to get margaritas. Once again, designated driver and not able to drink anyway. Still, I am loopy as a pair of homemade socks because when I was taking my antibiotics and my diflucan (yay!) tonight at bedtime, I also took my ADD medicine and my antidepressant. Just a habit to take everything at once.

So I’m up. I’ve listened to two thirty-minute lectures by Dr. Patrick Grim on “Questions of Value.” I’m feeling smart. I had a great time with my girlfriends who never disappoint me in their abilities to make me think, laugh, and blush (really, tonight was sort of over the top–I told Ben what we’d discussed and he was dumbstruck). I also had a nice lunch at Chick-Fil-A while my girls played, and my Kellybelly and I chatted which we hadn’t been able to do in a while due to various activities and my having had the streptococcal plague.

The two diet Cokes aren’t helping me sleep, either.

I hope that whoever you are, sweet reader, you have people you can tell anything to.

Strangers like to tell me things. People I know like to tell me random things, stuff I may not want to know but heavens, if they are so desperate to tell they might as well tell me. I am a good secret-keeper. I like having “people” I can tell things to. Girlfriends. We are plotting a trip in the colder weather and I am very excited. yes, it’s a long time off. I don’t care.

Should I go to bed now and wake up in three hours, or just make the best use of my time and clean something?

5 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    There is nothing like good girlfriends!
    Hope you are feeling better.
    Get some sleep.

  2. HEWY said,

    I loved the Silver Coin. I’m glad you are bad to your old self. The cold whether trip…Are you planning on going to Alaskan Cruise?

  3. MissBossyPants said,

    Leigh: I got a dangerous amount of sleep. I almost think it’s better to just stay awake at that point. Boy was I cranky.

    Hewy: the hubby and i have been to the lunch buffet but that was my first experience at dinner there. The watermelon ginger juice is to die for. By cold weather trip, I meant a trip during the winter. Like to the beach. We all want an Alaskan cruise, of course, but I’m not ready to start selling crack just yet.

  4. Charnita's Xpressions said,

    Girlfriends are great!
    Glad you are better.
    If I see you in public, I will try to resist the urge to tell you a deep secret…..
    maybe not!

  5. Jen said,

    My husband is always amazed at what women talk about when men aren’t around. He says we are sooo much worse than men with locker room talk!:)

Leave a Reply

