Back to Yoga

June 11, 2008 at 3:58 am (Uncategorized)

I started back yoga tonight. It was a very simple class and enjoyable. My pretend girlfriend Kelly was in front of me and at one point during the program I reached out and touched her foot by mistake. She didn’t kick me so I guess that’s good.

I really like yoga. My favorite yoga positions are Warrior 2 and Tree. But the best asana of all is towards the end, the supine spinal twist. When I’m done I feel like I need my pillow and blankie.

I went at my gym, which is great for some things and just okay for others. I really want to go to one of the yoga classes downtown. Not downtown Helena, though Coffee Rachel said once that she and I should open a yoga and pilates place in Old Towne. If you’re interested in financially backing us, let me know.

Vacation Bible School is fun again this year, as I expected. I get to see lots of friends I don’t see elsewhere, plus all the kids from the preschool, and some who went through with my oldest that I only see at VBS. They really do grow so fast. It sounds trite but nothing on earth is truer than that–one day your babies are babies, and you blink and they are blogging and having their own babies and their own life crises and they’re not babies any more. You are rocking their babies.

Hmmm…watching all these kids grow up is great. One little boy in my VBS group I have known since before he was even born! Having that connection with people is really what keeps me going. There are people at that church, and people working that VBS and the preschool too, who have known my two daughters since they were newborns. My almost-five-year-old has been going to that building and seeing those same kids since she was literally a week old.

Oh nostalgia…..more like nausea. I’m getting soft these days!

4 Comments

  1. HEWY said,

    Does pretend girlfriend Kelly know she is your pretend girlfriend.

    I always want to try that steaming room yoga that showed on Fox one time at the Downtown gym. Where they make you sweat the whole time…but that was when it was winter and 40 degrees outside. Now I just want to go somewhere cold.

  2. MissBossyPants said,

    maybe I should take over the back cooler at Publix and have a “freezer yoga” class.

    Some friends in Montgomery do hot yoga and love it. I’ve always wanted to try it, but I need to wait until I have my contact lenses. My glasses get too foggy.

  3. Leigh said,

    Cool! I like warrior pose too. And upward dog.
    Tell pretend girlfriend Kelly hi!

  4. Snark Meister said,

    Yoga is awesome. I’ve been doing it for awhile now and I have to say, your blog cracks me up. I found you through Leigh.

Leave a Reply

