You twirl, girl

May 18, 2008 at 5:54 pm (Uncategorized)

Last night my six year old’s baton school had their recital. She was, of course, cute as can be and kept her performer’s smile on the whole time. She didn’t even drop her baton.

When she first wanted to take baton, I rolled my eyes. I am a ballet person. I wanted her to continue her classical ballet education. But baton is cheaper and right after school, which meant no more driving to Vestavia every Wednesday evening. Half the time I didn’t even have to go get her because a friend would bring her home.

But seeing what baton has done for her coordination and confidence changed my mind. Plus, a Crimsonette performed for us (she was good but not great), the Head Majorette of Auburn University performed (she was really good), and then Lindsay Aderholt, a UAB Majorette, blew the roof off the place. I have never seen anything like it. Ballet, physical fitness, and coordination–twirling and juggling five batons at once! My four year old said it was just like when Shadowhelm was juggling balls at Buck Creek Festival!

So when your kid wants to do baton don’t roll your eyes or giggle. Because some day it could be awesome.

4 Comments

  1. Burned Out Betsy said,

    I will definitely have to remember this. Next weekend The Bug has her second ballet recital. Right now she is in ballet heaven and I truly hope she keeps it up because unlike her mother, the girl’s got rhythm. But I will support her in whatever extracurricular activity she chooses. As long as it is not snake charming. I don’t think I could handle that.

  2. MRMacrum said,

    We learned to let our daughter try out whatever she wanted when she was real young. Gymnastics, Dance, Soccer, Swimming,and I am sure some other things. She ended up swimming competiviely for 14 years and played soccer right through college. Keeping them engaged it seems has more to do with allowing them to be part of the decision process.

  3. Leigh said,

    Gilr, I still pull my baton out and twirl. I love it. FUn! Good for her!

  4. alyssa briggs said,

    hi, i was just wondering who your daughter took baton

Leave a Reply

