Bridges Not Burned

May 15, 2008 at 3:52 am (Uncategorized)

Tonight my Girl Scouts crossed the bridge from Daisies to Brownies. It was a big deal and we made it so. A few girls were noticeably absent. I think the parent of one of the absent girls does not like me. When we see each other out, she seems to purposely avoid me. I’m not sure what I did, and this here is my last moment to dwell on it. The little girl is sweet as pie and I will miss her not being in our troop next year.

Speaking of, we mutually agreed (well, I actively recruited!) to spin off another troop from ours. Mostly because I know the meeting time is not going to work for us and a few others next year, and several others wanted to keep the same meeting time. The two women who are going to lead that troop are fantastic. One of them I’ve known since last school year because her hubby is my son’s den leader. The other I’ve gotten to know through Girl Scouts this year and she is creative and fun and way better organized than I am. I feel that bringing up the “spin off” to the parents really opened a door for us to bring more girls in next year to troops that have a little direction.

I’m starting to take it maybe too seriously. But I think that even if I didn’t have children in scouting, I would still find a way to be involved with Cub Scouts and Girl Scouts. I absolutely love it. When I think about what purpose my life has, scouting fits in somehow. I’m wondering how I can get a paying job doing it.

2 Comments

  1. Vycine said,

    It is possible to get paid to be a scouter. Get in touch with your Council, people like the District Executives get paid. I know a couple of gals who loved scouting so much, they took positions with the council. So, it is possible!!

  2. MissBossyPants said,

    I’m keeping that in mind, Jess šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

