Thursday Thirteen

May 1, 2008 at 4:17 am (Uncategorized)

Leigh is asking about 13 movies this week.

Here are Miss BossyPants’ Top 13

1. Heavenly Creatures. A true story. Ever hear of the mystery writer Anne Perry? If so, you should watch this film because her real name is Juliet Hulme.
2. Life Is Beautiful. My God I loved this movie so much I went back to the Capri every night the whole week it was showing. I will only watch it in Italian. I tried watching it in English with my parents once and it wasn’t the same, not hearing Roberto Benigni yelling, “principesa!”
3. Coal Miner’s Daughter. I have seen this a thousand times and it never gets old. You ain’t woman enough to take my man!
4. The Ice Storm. Wow, this is a powerful film with Christina Ricci, Tobey Maguire, Elijah Wood, Kevin Kline, Joan Allen, Sigourney Weaver. Ang Lee really captured the loss of innocence and I cry just thinking about Kevin Kline walking through the woods, carrying Christina Ricci home.
5. Heathers. Snarky before snarky was a word. I used to watch this with my dad all the time when I was in middle school. Yes, really.
6. Pi. I love the craziness of this film. It’s loud and confusing and bizarre. Who the hell makes movies about math? My husband is a mathematician in his heart, and he and I and another math nerd went to see it after having too many beers at Jubilee Seafood.
7. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Because sometimes you’re just meant to be with someone, even when you try to get away and forget it all.

8. My Life As a Dog. I cannot tell you how much I love this film. I remember watching it when I was younger and trying not to be embarrassed about the penis getting stuck in the glass soda bottle.
9. Pan’s Labyrinth. This is a more recent film. The layering of the fantasy story on top of the WWII storyline had me captivated. I usually can’t watch fantasty without having nightmares but this movie didn’t cause any bad reactions.
10. Donnie Darko. Okay, Jake Gyllenhaal is what first drove me to this movie. But I can relate to it in a lot of ways. I like the fact that I watch it ten million times and each time I notice something different. I like that I don’t understand what was up with the teachers in the story. I do have bad dreams about this movie but it’s because of the bunny. And I watch anyway.
11. The Little Mermaid. This came out the summer I was 13 and going into eighth grade. We lived on a military base in New Mexico and could go see movies for 99 cents at the base theater. My friends and I went as a joke of sorts, having no idea how much we would absolutely love it. I can sing all the songs, too.
12. Beauty and the Beast. I won’t lie. I love this movie because of a boy. It was Halloween and we were supposed to be watching horror movies with friends, but they backed out, and so the boy I was in love with had me over to watch movies, and we watched this. It was 1992. I kind of gave him the hint of how much I liked him, but he was stupid at the time. Now we are good friends and married to other people. But I still love this movie and its stronger female character and Jessica Lansbury.

13. Closer. In this movie starring Julia Roberts, Clive Owen, Jude Law, and Natalie Portman, the one everyone believes is a liar is actually the only one telling the truth. I love the twist. It’s painful to watch, though. Lust makes people do bad things.

2 Comments

  1. HEWY said,

    Darko-Why do you wear that stupid bunny suit? Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?…classic

  2. Leigh said,

    Sadly the only ones of these that I have seen is the Disney movies and of course Coal Miners Daughter.
    I have some movie watching to do.
    I have learned something new about you…that you know Italian. Big Daddy is Italian, One day I would love for he and I to go.

Leave a Reply

