I’m all up in your extended network!

April 30, 2008 at 12:01 pm (Uncategorized)

Sunday night I saw I had a Facebook message from a very familiar name. Turns out one of my very dearest–I don’t use the word “dearest” lightly, especially with a modifier like “very”–friends had found me on Facebook. I can’t remember the last time we talked. It’s been years, so long ago maybe that I only had two kids instead of three, I’m not sure.

Because of some family issues–like her family is batcrap crazy–she disappeared for a while. I understood. Besides, once you make it to adulthood your childhood friendships take on a different flavor. I took what seems to be the traditional path of graduating from high school, attending college (and living with my parents, not something I recommend to my own kids, living with mom and dad while you’re trying to grow up in college), getting married, getting a house and a job. She and I took a chemistry-for-dummies class together in college and I visited her when she moved to Tuscaloosa. We even took a trip to Silverhill together back in, oh, 1999 to fetch some kittens.

I am glad to see that she has her stuff together now. My girl is not only in grad school and working hard (“nonprofit” has lots of meanings!) but she is a roller derby bitch. I couldn’t be prouder.

Raise a glass to old friends! Who know all kids of things about you and possibly saw you naked.

4 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    I was all, Oh! That is so sweet,!!
    until I saw roller derby! I know you knew I would!
    Does she play with the TCR? If so lets go over so I can skate with them!! COme on!

  2. MissBossyPants said,

    Leigh: no, she’s on the Candy Apple Razorblades in NC. I’ve been thinking we should go skate, though…

  3. Leigh said,

    Just give me a call….and call Kelly too. I am ready.

  4. Leigh said,

    ASk her if they sell their shirts?

Leave a Reply

