Bloody Eyeball; Lax Parenting

April 18, 2008 at 5:02 pm (Uncategorized)

Last night my husband noticed that our youngest had a blood spot on the white of her eyes (when you peeked under her lower lid). This morning the pediatrician looked at her eye and said it was caused by direct trauma and since it’s on the white of her eye, is not dangerous. The bad news is that it could be around for a month–or more! Like this time last year when she hit her cheekbone on the corner of a countertop and had the bruise for six months or so.

She really doesn’t remember getting hit or poked in the eye, but she’s four and a half. The other day she hit her head playing pogo stick on her friend’s bed (the doctor assured me this didn’t cause it–it had to be directly to the eye).

She’s not going blind, and blood is not going to come squirting out of her eye. The funniest part was that the girls took Baby Alive into the exam room and it freaked the doctor out. We’ve had dicussions before where he talked about how much he really hates Baby Alive–and clowns and wooden dummies and puppets, like I do–but I didn’t realize it was a serious aversion until he suggested we turn her off during our visit!

I wonder if I can take a nap today. My six year old is going to get measured for her violin later, and then go to a friend’s house. The four year old is on the couch watching Charlotte’s Web (the animated one that I love) and being cranky. I’m also watching a friend’s daughter, and farmed my son out this morning to the mom of the kid who spent the night last night.

Parenting: who’s keeping score? Will I be rewarded someday for working two duty-free lunches in one day? I doubt it. I’m sure the kids and teachers appreciate what parent volunteers do for them, but I have to wonder, are the expectations too high? It’s not secret that I am adamantly anti-state-mandated schooling and very pro-family-education. My kids are in school because my husband does not agree with me on the issue (yet!). But aren’t there other ways we can show our appreciation to teachers besides giving them gift baskets? LIke eliminating all this No Child Left Behind crap so they can actually get back to teaching, which is presumably what they love to do? Like eliminating so much of this crazy, stressful testing that causes elementary-aged kids even to get tummyaches because they’re afraid they won’t perform well enough?

I don’t mind volunteering at the school. In fact, the workroom there is the only place I get to do work that isn’t immediately undone! But I think a better way to help teachers is to raise respectful, creative, independent children who do not need everything cut out for them, who have reasonable manners at lunch, who can follow instructions when needed. My friend’s son goes to a private school and he attends from 8 am to 12:40 pm. Everything they need to cover is done in that time period. It is not for everyone, and I certainly appreciate the time I have to myself when my kids are in school, but it comes down to:

My kids’ education is my responsibility. And I am saying no to duty free lunches for Teacher Appreciation Week. No offense to teachers.

4 Comments

  1. HEWY said,

    Ahh the violin. I was once taught the Suzuki violin method. Halfway through the lesson I demanded Master Pai Mei teach me “The Devil went down to Georgia”. Instead he taught me Budda’s strinking ruler for the next 5 minutes

  2. Leigh said,

    Coll, wehre is your child getting violin lessons?

    and agree, agree, agree wiht the school thing.

  3. MissBossyPants said,

    violin lessons: a woman in my neighborhood actually teaches from her home (and in a church program too). They are good friends of our family and have been since the six year old was two. She taught both my girls in preschool and we go to church together. I am excited. I always wanted to play the cello, but I swear to you I did not push this one to play the violin. She is the one who, as soon as she learned to read last summer, started reading the Chronicles of Narnia books on her own.

  4. MissBossyPants said,

    Hewy: I think the Suzuki method would be too lax for my very intense kid. They don’t teach music reading or anything until they’re older, and she’s super-achievement-oriented (despite my best efforts, ha). But the thought of you getting struck by a ruler for five minutes is strangely amusing 😉

Leave a Reply

