Out of Hand

April 10, 2008 at 1:02 pm (Uncategorized)

I love catalogs, but lately the influx of paper crap through the mail has gotten out of hand. Clothing, toys, furniture, car accessories, you name it–we get it.

I discovered catalogchoice.org, which lets me enter information from my catalog mailing labels and it sends a notice to that company saying to stop sending catalogs.

Next to tackle is my magazine subscriptions. I love reading magazines–since I don’t have much of an attention span anymore, magazine reading is the only way I get any reading done sometimes. But we probably have 15 magazine subscriptions. Which leads up to a whole bunch of magazines headed for the recycling bin (and we all know what happens at the Helena recy bins). I may just have to contact everyone and let them know I want to cancel. Or just not renew. I don’t know. I actually do read them, most of them cover to cover the day I get them.

How many magazines and catalogs come to your house?

1 Comment

  1. Leigh said,

    I dont think I get that many. I saw yesterday on a “green show” to go online and cancel..here is the info:

    GET RID OF JUNK MAIL
    TIP: Let’s face it, in America shopping is a leisure activity and we don’t even have to leave our homes to play: Every day, catalogs and junk mail fill our mailboxes with temptations to buy things we don’t need. In 2006, we bought $160 billion in merchandise from catalogs. And more than 8 million tons of trees are used to produce the 19 billion catalogs printed each year, requiring enough energy to power 1.2 million homes for a year and producing as many emissions as 2 million cars. As for junk mail, the average adult is on at least 50 mailing lists and receives 40 pounds of junk mail a year-nearly half of which ends up in landfills unopened.

    ACTION & EFFECT: Cut down on junk mail by calling 888-5OPTOUT and cancel your catalog subscriptions by going to http://www.abacus-us.com and clicking on “Consumer Opt-out” to save $1,413 a year on unnecessary catalog purchases, helping us to collectively save 100 million trees a year.

Leave a Reply

