Big Mountain Idol

April 5, 2008 at 2:29 am (Uncategorized)

My girlfriend and I went to Big Mountain Idol tonight and the crowd was impressive. It also probably broke fire code. GF and I left in the middle of the third or fourth song because we were feeling the hot flashes too much. We tried Incahoots across the street–I’ll admit I’ve never had a good experience there but it was nice and cool and we wanted to sit by the water–and we waited more than five minutes at the front before I had to go hunt the hostess down. The food was eh, the pinot was skunky…

Then we went back to Big Mo, which is my favorite place as everyone who reads this knows. And it was still hot, not quite as crowded but still packed in. Nice to see teenagers and parents out together supporting friends. That’s the kind of stuff I did with my mom and dad growing up.

We left without drinks or anything. someone told me her husband waited 45 minutes for a chocolate milkshake. I think the Big Mo people were overwhelmed by the crowd and next time might want to consider having “tickets” at the door–not charging admission, but just controlling the crowd a bit better.

Tonight I did not get the things I wanted. I did have a Stella Artois at my GF’s house, and that was fantabulous. But I wanted a peppy atmosphere at Big Mo and the songs were moody. I wanted a really good drink or exotic beer at Incahoots and couldn’t get it. I wanted to come home to kids already in bed and a nice relaxing evening with my man, and that was certainly not the case.

Saturday will be better because we have ballgames and my middle darling is having her birthday party–not at my house! Yay!

6 Comments

  1. HEWY said,

    Please tell me you have some video footage

  2. MissBossyPants said,

    No, I don’t even have photos. I decided to go as a regular person and not a blogger 🙂 I left the camera in my girlfriend’s car.

  3. Leigh said,

    Dang Bossy! So srry you had a bad night. IT WAS HOT!!! (the temp!) But you looked great! That’s what really counts, huh? Have fun tomorrow!

  4. HEWY said,

    You’re some wine would have been nice. I should have had some before I came.

  5. MissBossyPants said,

    Leigh: I did look pretty awesome, didn’t I? I can’t help it.

    Hewy: Yeah, the effects of the wine improved my mood, even if the wine was skunky. Once it goes down it doesn’t matter anymore.

  6. Deedra said,

    Last night was fun, but definitely not your ideal atmosphere. There were to many small children there in my opinion, but yet I don’t have a whole lot of patience with small kids anymore(age 5 and younger). It was way too hot in there, way to crowded and there was no chance of getting a drink. Next time I will have to sneak in my own wine…don’t tell!
    Michelle way awesome though!!

Leave a Reply

