It really doesn’t have to take all day

April 3, 2008 at 1:00 pm (Uncategorized)

I saw this story in the Birmingham News this morning. The headline reads “Study says optimal duration of sex is 3-13 minutes.”

Women in the study were “armed with stopwatches.” I can only imagine how romantic and fun that was. A psychologist is quoted, “Most people’s sex lives are not as exciting as other people think they are.”

My husband swears he and his buddies don’t ever discuss sex (at least not their sex lives). If they did, I’m sure they’d never ever admit something like, “I really only want five or six minutes of action because it’s really exhausting.” Or “We do it while the kids are fighting over video games because they’re really loud and it gives us a couple of extra minutes.”

I think we (couples in intimate relationships) put too much pressure on ourselves to behave in certain ways. Each coupole, each family, has its own rhythm and things get off sometimes. We can’t always squeeze in long romantic evenings. Thankfully my husband’s office is downstairs now (when he’s not traveling) so I don’t have to drive to Homewood for afternoon delights anymore.

But once the romantic and exciting rush of an intimate relationship “matures” into the mechanics of everyday life, be grateful to your 3 to 13 minutes of sexual connection. Those minutes can really stand out in a day.

6 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    Oh, I am grateful for the five….hmm
    My husband agrees they dont talk about it either. I know him well enough to beleive him (introvert). My frans-good lawd, I blush, its like an episode of Sex in the City.

  2. MissBossyPants said,

    Leigh: I also believe my husband when he says they don’t discuss it. I’m glad they don’t because he shares everything with me and I really wouldn’t be able to bear looking at these guys again. Especially since so many of them wear Spandex cycling gear!

    Yeah, my friends and I are the same way. I personally dont share specifics about my man, but everything else is fair game. I knnow waaay to much about my neighbors LOL

  3. Dullbert said,

    March 15, 2008 63 minutes !! reached over set the clock forward one hour and wa la 63 minutes Gotta love daylight savings 🙂

  4. HEWY said,

    Foreplay! Ya gotta set up the pins if you want to throw a strike.

  5. MissBossyPants said,

    Dullbert: okay, that made me laugh superhard LOL

    Hewy: My parents had a book called “Sex Begins in the Kitchen” or something like that. Nice bowling anaology.

  6. Lady Blognanimous said,

    Great post, even better comments! Thanks for laughs!

Leave a Reply

