Who travels north for spring break?

March 24, 2008 at 1:07 pm (Uncategorized)

We do! Not only did we get to Northern Kentucky and Southeast Indiana in time for flooding, but it snowed on top of the floods. Of course, the ground was too wet for the snow to stick. After being lost in Louisville in torrential rains Tuesday night, the kids and I arrived in Lawrenceburg, Indiana and got to our hotel.

No, this is not a lake. It’s a field. There are power lines and such down there. I think the ground was still frozen from the blizzard the previous week.

Not one good night of sleep the whole time, but visiting my family was totally worth it.

The kids got to play with my cousin’s son, who is six months younger than my about-to-be-six year old and six months older than my “baby.” He and my son became best buds and all I have heard is “when are we going back? can he come stay with us this summer?”

We visited with my grandmother. She’s mentally ill and in a nursing home, and has congestive heart failure. The docs cut out lots of her old meds and put her on a new one for the mental issues and she is like a new woman. I’d been worried in the past about visiting her with the kids and used that as an excuse. But she is clear-headed, friendly, and more upbeat (still not Pollyanna, but hey, that just wouldn’t be her).

Friday afternoon we headed to Cincinnati to see my high school friend Heather, who lives there with her three kids. Midwestern malls are so different from Southern malls, but we had fun. The kids saw the Easter bunny. People stared at us. You know, typical stuff.

The trip was topped off with a visit to my great-great aunt in Brentwood, Tennessee. She is my great-granddad’s baby sister, and she’s 84 or 85. Her husband died two years ago. Her son and daughter-in-law are in Washington, D.C., and she is estranged from her daughter. Her former son-in-law, his wife, and my aunt’s grandchildren and great-grandchild are all close by. But she still loves company. We had a great time there, and the kids are excited about the garden coming in this spring and summer.

So yeah, we drove against the traffic into floods and snow, into much colder temperatures. But it was a great experience. Will I do it again with all three kids and no husband along for moral support? Probably. Now I know to add an extra four hours a day instead of just one to the travel time!

Easter was nice. We have decided to join a different church than what I expected, but I think it’s the right move for us. We were there for 8:30 services and Sunday school, and i got a great photo or two of the kids outside.

I must say, it’s nice to be back in the Loudest House on the Block after a few days away. I missed my messy kitchen, my annoying elderly dog, the bang of the piano keys. I even missed my husband! Now it’s on to cleaning the house, laundry, checking the kids’ lunch accounts, recovering the bank account, and getting my cracked tooth fixed (one of my “beaver” teeth cracked on the trip, I don’t know how).

2 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    LOL! Once again-laughing WITH you. I am glad you had a good trip. It really does sound fun. I am in awe of you driving that far by yourself. I can hardly drive dwontown Bham alone. I am becoming worse and worse as I age. I would’ve needed a valium to get me there.
    Glad you’re back and safe. Git yer tooth fixed (smile) or when you go back they will think you really are a southerner.

  2. HEWY said,

    Nice road trip down memory lane. The tooth cracking sounded painful. Nothing fun happened while you were away.

Leave a Reply

