Vacation all I ever wanted

March 17, 2008 at 12:04 am (Uncategorized)

Actually our Spring Break road trip is a visit to southeastern Indiana, where much of my dad’s people still live. The kids have not met lots of them, including my grandmother. She’s old and mentally ill, so it should be a great trip for everyone. I’m not being sarcastic, either. My gran is the brightest person I’ve ever known, and she’s the one we get our sarcasm and sassiness from. Maybe meeting her will help my kids make some connections. I’m excited for the whole thing. Okay, not the weather–it’s supposed to be gloomy and in the 50s the whole week. We’ll top it off with a visit to my great-great aunt in Nashville and then head home to get ready to go back to school.

My husband and our vicious attack dog will be guarding our mansion full of great stuff to steal. Just giving you a heads up.

I saw Blog Leigh at Publix today. I survived last week’s McTeacher Night at the Evil M and a sleepover where the boys tried to sleep in the basement but were too scared and moved upstairs after midnight. We visited a different church today, one we’d been to in the past and weren’t nuts about but that was a great experience today.

Oh, and the husband, three kids and I hiked to Peavine Falls and back again. Had I not heard the Voice of Beth at the top of the rocks, encouraging me, I’d probably still be there now. My wrists hurt from clinging to rocks. But we all made it–a nearly-35-year-old with missing meniscus and a titanium plate in his collarbone; a 32 year old woman with more than 100 extra pounds on her frame and bad feet; a moody seven year-old; a flighty almost-six-year-old; and a four-and-a-half year-old born without the fear that kids should have of things like slippery rocks, very high cliffs, and wild animals.

I can’t get Glen Hansard out of my head. My brother-in-law has the DVD of Once and it seems right up my alley.

Happy spring break, suckers. You enjoy your drunken-student-laden beaches and hotel pools. I’ll be in Indiana where it is not usually sunny, but it will be worth it for the funny-and-totally-true-stories I’ll have to tell you once I recover.

2 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    I cannot help but smile after reading that post.I know that was fun. I am going to do this soon. I hope that I can drag, I mean, take the kids there this week. Looking for things to do….I’ll need a good drink my week’s end (LOL!!)I cannot wait to hear the stales that you come home with!
    Have a great and safe trip!

  2. HEWY said,

    Have fun on your trip…btw I think i saw you at church…>?

Leave a Reply

