Just got me some Sweeney Todd

December 29, 2007 at 7:03 am (Uncategorized)

My neighbor-friend and I went to see Sweeney Todd tonight. Amazing. The blood was a bit to handle since I really don’t do blood and violence much any more. But my God. We were the only ones laughing at the scenes of Mrs. Lovett’s fantasy life with Mr. Todd but I don’t know why because they were hysterical….that Tim Burton, gotta love him.

If you don’t know about the Stephen Sondheim musical but want to see the film, best to read up. The official Sondheim website is a good place to start. Also helps to know about the time period so you understand why little Toby thinks eating those stinky moldy roachy meat pies is so heavenly. Always important to understand the social and political climate of the times, so check out Matthew Mayhew’s London Labour and the London Poor at Victorian Web.

Then brace yourself for some uncomfortable giggles, excellent performances, superb art direction, and lots and lots of blood.

Also, young Anthony Hope is played by this Jamie Campbell Bower. I almost cried as he wandered the streets of London calling for Joanna. Quite moving.

3 Comments

  1. HEWY said,

    Sounds good. Now I want to go!

  2. HEWY said,

    BTW Happy New Year!

  3. Abbey Road -- said,

    I LOVED IT! Anything with Depp is a given, for me. Yes, it was hard to be serious some of the time … I need to find that little rhyme Mr. Barker/Todd kept mumbling ….

Leave a Reply

