Mom of the year

December 23, 2007 at 8:36 pm (Uncategorized)

Saturday night, old classmates from my magnet high school reunited at 1048 in Montgomery. Honestly, I didn’t recognize a lot of the people. It was sort of the BTW Magnet High School class of 1997 reunion (me, not class of 1997) and then all the other years of Carver Creative and Performing Arts Center kids (that’s me).

But I must say that Miss Gina Rickicki did a smashing job of organizing the whole thing. We had a great bartender and I took a girlfriend with me. I drank five Stellas and accepted an award: The Donna Reed Award, for a graduate who has made family a focus. Later Gina said she hoped I wasn’t insulted, and I laid it out:

I am doing exactly what I want and need to be doing. I was in the creative writing component, editing literary magazines and writing melodramatic poetry and falling in love with drama teachers. Writing was something I did because I was good at it. Not so much any more. I love love love being home with my children. Am I good at it? That’s debatable. I’m notoriously bad at housekeeping, I’m a clutterbug, I really don’t like cleaning floors. I yell at my children–if you were their mom, you would too–and I ignore my husband in favor of other less interesting things.

But no one loves them like I can. I am at the preschool or the elementary school nearly every day helping. My Girl Scouts depend on me. I monitor my kids’ television, movie, and video game choices. I am merciless when it comes to protecting my family. I’ve nursed my husband through two major injuries and some major surgeries.

I ain’t perfect. I’m impatient and bitchy and bossy and lazy. I’d rather count ceiling tiles than do housework. My kids have eaten ice cream for supper before, and more than once (but not more than three times). Maybe I linger a bit too much at Big Mountain sometimes when I should be organizing everyone’s toys and school papers and color-coding their underwear drawers.

But it’s important to know when you’re doing what you were meant to do. This is it for me. In ten years it will probably be different. I haven’t traveled the world. I’m not making money writing, because God who would pay me for THIS?

so when I got my little Donna Reed paper doll with the apron and the sassy tattoos on it, I was honored. It’s nice to know that people out there recognize the importance of what mommies and daddies do every day.

2 Comments

  1. HEWY said,

    Hey! I went to your rival school in Montgomery.

    Congrats on the award! You desired it. and Merry Christmas!

  2. MissBossyPants said,

    I desired it? Really? is that some kind of freudian slip? 🙂

    I actually graduated from JD in 1994, before CCPAC went to a full-day LAMPish thing at BTW downtown.

Leave a Reply

