My hometown gone crazy

December 6, 2007 at 2:08 pm (Uncategorized)

Some of you may know that while I’ve lived most of my life in the Sunny South, I hail from the Midwest. Bellevue, Nebraska, to be exact. My parents are Midwesterners as well–mom was born and raised in Iowa and dad was raised mostly in Indiana.

My hometown is all over the news now. The Westroads Mall shooting happened in Omaha yesterday. And the shooter, a nineteen year old with troubles left and right, was from the little town of Bellevue, where I was born and lived as a baby and toddler.

I was back in The Big O this summer and despite the fact that I would never really consider moving anywhere north of Nashville, I do have a great fondness and affection for Nebraska and Iowa both. The manners, dialect, and food are different from here, but the people are warm-hearted. No one deserves such tragedy.

1 Comment

  1. Leigh said,

    That was so terrible. So sad.
    Hey my husbands fmaily are from Indiana-Greenwood, and South Bend areas.

Leave a Reply

