Ungrateful Little Monsters

November 1, 2007 at 8:17 pm (Uncategorized)

I hate Halloween. We didn’t do trick-or-treating as a family this year. I had tickets for all of us to Disney On Ice’s Finding Nemo. Fun way to spend Halloween, right? Apparently not.

My son begged and begged to stay behind and trick-or-treat with a friend on our street. So I gave in and took my other two to the show. They seemed to love every minute of it until we got back in the car to go home. Then they wailed “we didn’t get to go trick-or-treating!” for the thirty minute ride home. I cried in the front seat because I felt like a failure as a mom. A hundred bucks down the drain.

We get home and my son is with my husband, who just got back in from Austin. Guess what the son says to me….”Mom, I really missed you. I wish I’d gone to Disney on Ice because xxxx was mean to me the whole time.”

Lessons learned:

1. No matter a parent’s intentions or money spent, kids will be ungrateful because that is their job. They don’t know any better when they’re 4 and 5 and 7. They don’t understand sacrifice, and that’s a good thing.

2. You can’t please three very different children with one activity. Better to just let them whine around the neighborhood and get candy that you can threaten to throw in the garbage when they misbehave.

3. Disney on Ice is actually a lot of fun to watch.

4 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    sorry you had a difficult evening. Eat some chocolate from the halloween bucket. it will make you feel better. It always does it for me.

  2. HEWY said,

    I have done the Disney on Ice before. After paying for everything and sitting down, they brings out all these cool overpriced toys. My children did the same thing about being disappointed about the lack of toys instead focusing on the great show.

  3. kirby said,

    The grass is always greener blah, blah. We parents just can’t win.

  4. UziCue said,

    at least you got the dog….they’re pretty low maintenance (just kiddin’)
    kids are great. I don’t have any, but I know you’d do anything for them.

Leave a Reply

