The One Where the Police Get Involved

July 18, 2007 at 8:17 pm (Uncategorized)

I ended up doing something I don’t like to do today: called the police. the kids down the street, ages 8 and 10, are in the custody of their grandmother. She was out of town visiting family and so their 18 year old brother was “watching” them while their mom (lives with them and is non-custodial) and aunt (also lives with them) were at work. The kids were banging like crazy on the doors to the house, every door, every window they could reach, for more than an hour. Finally I tried calling their grandmother at work (I didn’t know at that time she was on vacation). I spent some time banging on the door and ringing the doorbell with no response from the brother, or from his girlfriend who was inside with him.

The police came. Right after that, the grandmother drove up. The kids were here with my kids and three of their friends (eight kids total, I know) having a snack because it was almost TWO o’clock and they hadn’t had lunch yet. And did I mention the 10 year old needed his fast-acting inhaler?

I haven’t talked to them yet. The brother and grandmother summoned the kids back home but I get a feeling some bad shit is about to go down over there. these are the same kids who are permitted to play video games like Halo and Geist–at ages 8 and 10. Insanity.

2 Comments

  1. MRMacrum said,

    Out of control kids. Been on both sides of this one. Smart to not try and handle it yourself beyond what you did.

    Sounds like you may feel a tad guilty about stirring up some shit. DOn’t. They asked for it. If it wasn’t you, it would have been someone else.

  2. MissBossyPants said,

    Yeah, I was feeling kind of bad for stirring something up. But I’ve put up with crap from that house for close to 8 years now and I can’t take it any more. I think it’s wrong to get nosey into other peoples’ affairs, but when kids are being mistreated it’s different. Getting locked out of your house by the brother who’s supposed to care for you has to be traumatic. I noticed the brother’s girlfriend didn’t visit yesterday.

Leave a Reply

